© New Zealand Broadcasting School 2021

Daryl Mitchell offered Blackcaps Contract for the first time

Nic Duff
thumbnail IMG 3523
Daryl Mitchell in the nets during Blackcaps training camp in Lincoln  Instagram

The Canterbury all-rounder has been offered a New Zealand Cricket contract for the upcoming summer.

Mitchell and Auckland batsman Glenn Phillips are the only new faces among the 20 contracts offered to players. Central Districts spinner Ajaz Patel was one of the two players contracted last season not to receive one this time around, while BJ Watling has also been omitted after confirming his retirement from all cricket earlier in the week.

Selector Gavin Larson praised the pair for taking their games to "another level over the summer".

He also highlighted the "unprecedented" success the national side saw over summer. They went through the summer unbeaten for the first time ever.

Mitchell says trying to do "the little things right and keep trying to win games of cricket" were vital to his successful summer.

The 29-year-old brought up his maiden Test and ODI centuries and featured in all three formats this summer. He says the former was his highlight of the season.

"To score my first test century at new home ground [Hagley Oval] in front of my wife and three little girls here. It was a pretty special moment."

This was also his first summer with Canterbury having made the move south from Northern Districts.

He was a key figure in the side's successful summer which saw them claim both the Plunket Shield and Ford Trophy titles, as well as being runners-up in the Super Smash competition. This success was highlighted by being named Men's Domestic Player of the Year at the New Zealand Cricket awards last month.

Mitchell and the rest of the Blackcaps squad depart for England tomorrow night ahead of a two test series against the English and the Word Test Championship final.

The players will have until May 22 to accept or decline the contract offer.

Players offered national contracts for 2021-22 

Tom Blundell (Wellington)

Trent Boult (Northern Districts)

Devon Conway (Wellington)

Colin de Grandhomme (Northern Districts)

Lockie Ferguson (Auckland)

Martin Guptill (Auckland)

Matt Henry (Canterbury)

Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)

Tom Latham (Canterbury)

Daryl Mitchell* (Canterbury)

Henry Nicholls (Canterbury)

James Neesham (Wellington)

Glenn Phillips* (Auckland)

Mitchell Santner (Northern Districts)

Ish Sodhi (Northern Districts)

Tim Southee (Northern Districts)

Ross Taylor (Central Districts)

Neil Wagner (Northern Districts)

Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

Will Young (Central Districts)

*First time being offered a contract